Skip to main content
Infinix Calculators
Financial Calculators

Does Affirm Hurt Your Credit Score? Soft vs Hard Pulls

Does Affirm Hurt Your Credit Score? Soft vs Hard Pulls

Quick Answer:

Checking your rate with Affirm uses a soft credit inquiry and does not hurt your credit score. However, long-term monthly installment loans may be reported to Experian and TransUnion as new accounts. Opening multiple short-term installment loans can temporarily lower your credit score by reducing your Average Age of Accounts (AAoA).

Buy Now, Pay Later (BNPL) services like Affirm have revolutionized online checkout, offering instant approval for installment financing. However, a major concern for credit-conscious consumers is: Does using Affirm hurt your credit score?

The answer is nuanced. While checking your eligibility will never affect your score, the way Affirm handles credit bureau reporting can impact your credit profile depending on the loan structure you choose.

Does Affirm Perform a Soft Pull or Hard Pull?

When you request pre-qualification or select Affirm at checkout, Affirm performs a soft credit check to verify your identity and assess creditworthiness. Soft inquiries do not show up on credit reports seen by lenders and have zero impact on your FICO or VantageScore ratings.

Unlike traditional loan applications or credit card applications that trigger hard inquiries (which lower scores by 3–5 points), checking your Affirm purchasing power is completely risk-free.

Does Affirm Report to Credit Bureaus?

Many consumers ask: does Affirm report to credit bureaus or do Affirm report to credit agencies? The short answer is yes for long-term monthly installment loans (3, 6, 12, or 24-month terms). Affirm reports account balances, payment history, and loan open dates to Experian and TransUnion.

So, does Affirm affect credit score or does Affirm build credit? If you make 100% of your scheduled payments on time, Affirm helps build positive payment history (which makes up 35% of your FICO score). However, opening multiple short-term installment loans in a single year can lower your Average Age of Accounts (AAoA) and temporarily reduce your score.

Affirm's credit reporting rules depend on the specific payment plan:

  • Pay in 4 (Biweekly Plans): Four biweekly zero-interest payments are generally not reported to credit bureaus unless the account becomes severely delinquent (30+ days past due).
  • Monthly Installment Loans (3, 6, 12, or 24 months): Monthly installment loans are frequently reported to credit bureaus such as Experian. The reported details include the loan amount, payment history, and current balance.
  • 0% APR Promotional Financing: Some 0% APR promotional loans are excluded from reporting, but standard interest-bearing monthly loans are treated as personal installment loans.

The Average Age of Accounts (AAoA) Credit Score Drop

One of the most frequent complaints on credit subreddits is an unexpected drop in score after using Affirm for multiple separate purchases.

As user credit_watcher shared on Affirm: "Every time you buy a $300 item on Affirm monthly installments, it reports as a brand new installment account opening up. If you do this 5 times a year, your Average Age of Accounts (AAoA) drops significantly, causing your credit score to drop by 20 to 40 points!"

Credit Score Warning:

If you are planning to apply for a major mortgage or auto loan in the next 6 to 12 months, avoid opening multiple small Affirm installment loans to keep your credit history clean and account age high.

What Happens if You Miss an Affirm Payment?

While Affirm does not charge late fees, missing a payment by 30 days or more will result in delinquency reporting to credit bureaus. Delinquencies remain on credit reports for up to 7 years and can severely damage your FICO score.

Can Using Affirm Help Build Your Credit Score?

Yes. If you take out a reported monthly installment loan and make 100% of your scheduled payments on time, Affirm builds a positive track record of on-time payment history—which accounts for 35% of your FICO score formula.

Plan Your Payments Before Borrowing

Ensure your monthly budget handles Affirm installments smoothly. Calculate monthly costs and interest with our free Affirm Loan Calculator.

Open Affirm Calculator

Sources and Community Feedback

David Miller, CPA
Written by

David Miller, CPA

Lead Financial Analyst & Tax Technology Editor

View Profile & Articles →

David is a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) with over 14 years of corporate tax, loan amortization modeling, and merchant processing cost accounting experience.

Frequently Asked Questions About Affirm Calculator

Can you pay Affirm with a credit card?
Generally, no. Affirm requires debit cards, checking accounts (ACH), or bank transfers for ongoing monthly loan payments to prevent consumers from stacking credit debt on top of installment debt. You can only use a credit card for the initial down payment on select merchant offers. For a complete breakdown of financing options and payment math, try our free Affirm Payment Calculator or read our guide on why use Affirm instead of a credit card.
Does Affirm report to credit bureaus?
Yes, Affirm reports longer-term monthly installment loans (typically 3, 6, 12, or 24-month terms) to credit bureaus like Experian and TransUnion. On-time payments will be reflected on your credit report and help establish positive payment history. However, 0% interest 'Pay in 4' biweekly plans are usually not reported unless payments become 30+ days delinquent. Check our detailed guide on does Affirm hurt your credit score to learn how loan reporting impacts your credit profile.
Does Affirm affect your credit score or build credit?
Checking your purchasing power on Affirm requires only a soft credit check, which has zero impact on your credit score. When you take out a reported monthly installment plan, making on-time payments builds a positive credit history over time. However, opening multiple new installment accounts in a short period can temporarily dip your credit score by reducing your Average Age of Accounts (AAoA). Model your exact monthly commitment before checking out using our Affirm Loan Calculator.
What is the difference between Affirm vs. Klarna vs. Afterpay?
Affirm specializes in larger retail transactions up to $17,500 with terms stretching up to 36 months, alongside zero late fee policies. Klarna and Afterpay focus primarily on smaller, short-term 'Pay in 4' retail shopping purchases and enforce late payment fees when installments are missed. Affirm also offers simple interest financing options with no compounding interest charges. Read our full comparison matrix in Affirm vs. Klarna vs. Afterpay.
How does the Affirm Debit Card work?
The Affirm Debit Card connects directly to your checking account, allowing you to pay for everyday purchases immediately or split eligible transactions over $50 into 4 biweekly payments or monthly loans inside the Affirm app. You can request loan terms before swiping or within 24 hours after making a store purchase. It provides BNPL flexibility without needing approval at individual online checkouts. Learn how simple interest vs. credit card APR compares in our Affirm Pay in 4 vs Monthly guide.
Are there Buy Now Pay Later options with no credit check?
Most BNPL providers, including Affirm, perform an initial soft credit pull that does not impact your credit score. While Affirm does not offer zero-check loans, instant approval is based on your income, checking account history, and existing Affirm repayment track record rather than hard credit scores alone. Avoid high-risk unregulated payday loans by planning your repayment terms with our Affirm Installment Calculator and reading our strategy on how to escape BNPL debt traps.
How is Affirm purchasing power calculated, and why did my limit change or require a down payment?
Affirm calculates your purchasing power using automated underwriting that evaluates soft credit inquiries, existing Affirm repayment history, income verification, and checking account data. Purchasing power is dynamic and re-evaluated per transaction. If your cart total (such as a $5,000 purchase) exceeds your approved purchasing limit, Affirm requires an upfront down payment to cover the remaining balance. Learn more in our guide on how Affirm purchasing power works or estimate installment options with our Affirm Payment Calculator.
Can you pay off an Affirm loan early, make partial payments, or save on interest?
Yes. Affirm charges non-compounding simple interest and enforces zero prepayment penalties. If you pay off your loan early or make partial extra payments toward principal, future unearned interest is automatically canceled, saving you money. For step-by-step instructions on making extra principal payments, read our guide on paying off Affirm early.
How does Affirm calculate interest on 24 or 36 month loans compared to short term loans?
Affirm calculates monthly installment payments using fixed simple interest (0% to 36% APR) rather than daily compounding credit card rates. On long-term 24 or 36-month loans, total dollar interest accumulates over time even though monthly payments are lower. Calculate exact interest costs across 3, 6, 12, 18, 24, and 36-month terms using our Affirm Interest Calculator and read our detailed breakdown in how Affirm calculates interest math.
Does Affirm charge hidden fees or recalculate interest when a down payment is made?
Affirm does not charge hidden fees, late fees, annual fees, or service penalties. When a merchant or checkout offer requires a down payment, interest is calculated solely on the net financed balance (total price minus down payment). Promotional 0% APR financing is funded via merchant subsidies (subventions) at partner checkouts like Samsung or Apple. Read our full transparency analysis in the truth about Affirm 0% APR and hidden fees.
Where can you use Affirm? Does Walmart, Amazon, Apple, Best Buy, Home Depot, or eBay take Affirm?
Affirm is accepted at major retailers including Amazon, Walmart, Target, Best Buy, Apple, Home Depot, Lowe's, and eBay, as well as travel sites like Royal Caribbean and Expedia. For stores that do not directly integrate Affirm at checkout, you can generate an Affirm Virtual Credit Card or use the Affirm Debit Card. Read our complete guide to stores that accept Affirm, bills, rent, and gift cards.
Can you use Affirm to pay rent, bills, buy gift cards, or rent a car?
Directly paying rent or utility bills with Affirm is generally restricted, though third-party bill pay workarounds exist (which may incur cash advance or processing fees). Affirm allows financing car rentals and travel through approved travel partners, and gift cards can be purchased via the Affirm Gift Card Mall in the app. Calculate your financing costs before committing using our Affirm Loan Calculator.
What credit score is needed for Affirm pre-approval?
Affirm does not enforce a rigid minimum credit score requirement. While applicants with FICO scores of 640 or higher generally receive higher purchasing power and lower APR tiers (including 0% APR), applicants with limited credit or scores as low as 550 can be approved based on checking account history and income. Pre-qualifying triggers a soft pull with no score impact. Read our analysis in Affirm credit score requirements & bureau reporting.
How much would I pay on an Affirm Pay in 4 plan on a $375 order?
On an Affirm Pay in 4 plan for a $375 purchase, you pay exactly 4 bi-weekly payments of $93.75 at 0% APR with $0 fees. The first payment of $93.75 is charged immediately at checkout, with the remaining 3 payments scheduled every 14 days (Week 2, Week 4, and Week 6). There are no interest charges or compounding fees provided payments are made on time. Model your order total using our Affirm Payment Calculator.
What are Affirm's typical interest rates and loan APR tiers?
Affirm offers simple interest rates ranging from 0% APR promotional financing up to 36% APR, depending on the merchant partner, loan duration (3, 6, 12, 24, or 36 months), and applicant credit profile. Popular merchant partners (like Peloton, Samsung, and Apple) frequently offer 0% APR, while standard retail loans average 15% to 30% APR simple interest with zero late fees or prepayment penalties.
¿Qué es Affirm y cómo funciona en español?
Affirm es un servicio de financiamiento en el punto de venta que permite a los compradores dividir sus compras en pagos quincenales (Pay in 4 al 0% APR) o préstamos mensuales de 3 a 36 meses con interés simple fijo sin cargos por mora ni comisiones ocultas. Para ver la guía completa en español, lea nuestro artículo ¿Qué es Affirm y cómo funciona en español?.